But why is it red?

Note to my friends – if you ask me to bring a dessert to your party, you probably don’t need to ask anyone else to bring one.  Just saying.

The party host asked for cupcakes, so cupcakes I’ve got.  I wanted to make red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese icing to show these Californians what I get to eat when I work in the deep, deep south.  I used Paula Deen’s Grandmother Paula’s Red Velvet Cake recipe for the cake and the cream cheese frosting from here.  The only change I made was to use only ONE bottle of red food coloring in the cake.  It’s really red, so two must be crazy!  I must admit, this is one darn tasty red velvet cake.  In fact it’s much nicer than most of the red velvet cakes I’ve had in the south, but I don’t think I ever had room for dessert when I’ve eaten at Ms. Deen’s restaurant.  Too full.

And because dessert is my favorite meal, I also made a triple choco mousse cake, just in case I couldn’t find any food items to suit my palate at the party.  As if!  Flourless chocolate cake is the base and chocolate mousse and white chocolate mousse layered on top.  It’s so rich I need to lie down just looking at the thing!

Party on Garth!

P.s. Does anyone find the font on this new blog template too small for comfort?

13 responses

  1. My focal area is the size of the head of a pin — type looks fine. Thanks for linking to the recipes. Need to lose 20 more pounds, but then chocolate mousse cake is definitely on the agenda!

  2. Yes, the font looks a little small to me, but it’s your blog. I can always put on my magnifiers! BYW, I have never made a red velvet cake, but am going to try because yours looks so yummy; going to try the chocolate one too! Thanks.

  3. love those cupcakes! I’ve made red velvet cake and cupcakes and use the food colouring, but my sister uses beet juice for the colouring.

  4. I’d type more but the drool has ruined my keyboard!

    The font’s fine for me. I’ve learnt to just increase the text size via my browser if necessary.

  5. Can’t comment on the font….I just want to know how I can invite you to my next party!! Seriously, don’t you have Seattle on the sched. somewhere?

Comments are closed.