Squash and such

 

What’s with the crazy looking pic?  It’s the Hipstamatic app meets my lunch.

After seeing Stephanie’s soupy freezer cache the other day, I knew it was time for me to use that red kuri squash that’s been sitting on my counter for two weeks.  I mean, it’s cooling down and may not even make it to 70 today.  I know!

I found several yummy recipes to try.  A nice sounding squash gratin, an easy baked squash and the winning soup

I didn’t change the recipe too much ingredient-wise.  I nuke my squash (whole – as it comes – no poking) for 6 minutes so it’s a kind of cooked and cuttable.  I let it cool, cut it open and cleaned out the seeds and scooped out the squashmeat (is that a word?).  I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and a granny smith apple.  BTW, my cinnamon is a totally superior kind (Penzy’s Extra Fancy Vietnamese), but don’t worry the cinnamon in the recipe doesn’t overpower the soup, it’s a nice addition.  I also added a tablespoon or two of medium dry sherry at the finish for extra depth of flavor.

What I did change was how I made the soup.  Since my squash was nuked and pretty much cooked, I just carmelized my onions, added the apple for a bit and dumped the rest of the ingredients in the pot and let it simmer about 20 minutes.  Pretty much my usual soup MO.  The stick blender did the rest and I’ve got soup for now and some in the freezer.  Bring on those mid 60 degree days!

4 responses

  1. Thanks, I’ve been buying those squash for years and never knew what they were called! I just treated them like a regular (butternut) squash and it’s always worked out fine… but good to know they have a name!

Comments are closed.