Summer kicks

Despite having to work a few more hours because of the summer travel rush, I do still have a bit of crafting time.  In fact I finished my first pair of socks for the Summer of Socks 2011 love in.  These bright socks are knit from my favorite Vesper Sock yarn in the Sweet Water colorway.  I think these are more parrot than sweet water, but that’s perhaps because I knit on them in several tropical destinations in the Caribbean (work, not fun).

The knit pattern is a variation included in the Summer Spirals pattern.  This variation is Spiral Wave and is a bit more subtle with the waving considering the loud yarn I chose.  I wanted a small pattern that wouldn’t conflict with the bright, tropical colorway.  I think this worked out nicely and the pattern was quite easy for road knitting.

Heel and toes are my usual short row method and I must admit I’m fond of a loud pair of socks.  No, I don’t usually wear them as socks out of the house so they don’t need to knit from “normal” and “appropriate” colors.  Though come winter, these may just get a wearing under boots.

My last sewing project (Beignet skirt) turned out well, but the quick pics I took of it were bad.  Stay tuned for better piccies.