Rrrrruffles have rrrrridges

My oodles of free time (though oodles may be overstating) have enabled me to finish a new top of the rrrrufffled variety.  There are scads of embellishments on tops everywhere now, but despite it’s potential of being played out, I went for it.

Enter Simplicity 2599, an easy top with ruffle variations.  I made it even easier by omitting facings and cutting the ruffles doubled instead of narrow hemming (narrow hemming should be done by prisoners as punishment).  I made it from some odd swiss-dot (but not swiss dot) poly georgette fabric from my fave Fabrix and lined it with yummy poly crepe backed satin.  This is an easy pattern and one garment I’ll actually wear.  Fabric costs were about $8 so I don’t even need to wear it that often to get my money’s worth.

More details of this project are found in my review on PatternReview, but I’d heartily recommend this pattern to any newish type sewists, nothing hard here.