Gruel no more

I’ve returned home from that last week and a half of work tired and with a cold.  But it’s OVER!  Back to a normal schedule please.

Despite me thinking that yesterday the holidays were over, every flight out west was jammed to the gills.  I managed to get the very last seat on a flight to LAX which is not SFO but close enough (out of almost 300 seats on the plane – that’s a coup!) and spent a good part of the flight watching Dr. Oz on the TV.  I don’t usually watch daytime TV, but the offerings are pretty darn awful and Dr. Oz was the pick o’ the litter imho.  Unfortunately every time I watch his show I learn too many things and freak out about my lack of fiber/too much salt/lip balm addiction.  Yesterday was about healthy foods.  What could be so bad?  Today I’m waiting for Whole Foods to open to see if they have ground chia seeds.  That’s what can happen!

Yes, chia seeds are the wonder food and I will now hunt them down.  They made muffins with them on the show so I’ll let you know how they turn out.  This morning, in an effort to get back to healthy food eating habits (unlike working in airports where there is no healthy food) I made oatmeal.  I hate oatmeal.  It tastes fine, it’s just wall paper paste and won’t easily go down the old gullet.  But needs must so I found an oatmeal recipe (yes I needed a recipe) and made steel cut oats for the first time.  Voila!  We have a winner.  I added cinnamon, apples and a bit of maple syrup and ate it up.  Tomorrow might be bananas and pecans.  We shall see.  The world of steel cut oats has just opened for me.

Crafty-wise I’ve got nothing.  Maybe some new flannel pj bottoms for you tomorrow?  A bit of knitting?  I’ll see what that good breakfast can do for me.

9 responses

  1. Do you have a Great Harvest nearby? They have a wonderful cranberry almond oatmeal – and the cinnamon raisin isn’t bad, either. You can always toss some chia or flax seeds into it. That’s the oatmeal that made me a convert! If you have a layover in SLC, they carry it at the Great Harvest at 9th & 9th.

  2. I hate oatmeal, too. Absolutely despise it. It makes me gag. I discovered recently, though, that it’s the cold milk on the hot oatmeal that grosses me out. So, now when I have oatmeal, I eat it without milk. Voila. Tolerable!

  3. My sister made and then ate oatmeal? Who are you?

    I know nothing about chia seeds, but am interested in your experiment. Hope you feel better soon!

  4. I hate oatmeal too (library paste) so I tried steel cut oats. I did not like it any better ;-( and what’s worse is that my oatmeal loving husband did not like it either. I’m glad it worked for you.
    I do like Trader Joe’s Multigrain Cereal. That’s got oats as well as other grains and is quite good with a bit of cinnamon and brown sugar.

  5. I find steel-cut oats to be bearable, but I generally add yogourt and fruit. I’m also going to try the baked oatmeal mentioned by Kathy and see if I can make it into bars.

Comments are closed.