Bean there

After flying around hither and yon for seven days, I’m home and crafty endeavors should begin soon.  As soon as the jetlag passes a bit.  Until then, here’s what I made for dinner.  You know it’s easy if I could make it with the brain soupiness of yesterday.

The recipe is Black Bean and Sweet Potato Stew.  My version had minimal changes:  I made half the recipe since that seemed plenty, I used more ginger and garlic because they’re delicious, I used 3/4 the amount of orange juice and the rest water and I added about 5 pinches of smoked paprika.  I also ended up with a not at all spicy Hatch pepper so I added a few pinches of red pepper flakes to make it a bit spicier.  My polenta came from Trader Joes in a tube that looks like marzipan and I fried up two little slices in a nonstick pan with a bit of butter for color.  Try not to skip the polenta, it really works well with the stew.  Of course I added some ripe avocado to the bowl because they’re extremely yummy.  Hope you enjoy this easy dish!