Covered in autumn

A while back I was musing about what to make with this fabric that I nicknamed Big Flowers (for obvious reasons).  I bought it a few years ago and can not remember what my “plan” was for this material.  It’s a nice stretch cotton woven fabric and I’d enough for a dress.  Then I thought “Self, that is not such a super idea.  You’d look like a cheerful florist at a trade show booth enticing passersby with free fertilizer samples.  Rethink.”

I then saw this tunic pattern on Kat’s blog and thought I’d use Big Flowers for that.  The pattern is Wiksten Tova and was apparently very hot on the web a while ago and hard to come by.  Since I’m late to this party it’s very easy to come by as a download (from here).

This pattern is pretty darn simple.  I cut it out in about half an hour and didn’t bother to do much in the way of marking (but then truth be told, I never to much marking – I’m a seat of the pants sewing rebel).  I then sewed up most of the top during the awesome 49ers win against the Packers.  I could have finished the whole thing but I had to stop and cheer and swear and shake my fist a bit, as one does.  Slightly more info available in my review on Pattern Review.

Am I the only one who loves to craft during (American) football games?  I sew when they’re not playing actively, and in a game of fits and starts you can apparently sew up a whole freaking blouse.  I like to imagine other crafty endeavors taking place during the games filled with all those commercials aimed at dudes drinking cheap beer and looking at lady boobies.  I wonder if anyone knows  cares half their audience is female?  And crafty?

8 responses

  1. It’s lovely! Another winner for sure!

    I used to quilt while watching the NFL. There was something very satisfying about getting quilt blocks made while all those guys were running around and pushing each other over.

  2. You did it! And it looks lovely with the flowers, methinks :)
    I just read your review on patternreviews, and saw that you, too, found it a tad small in the upper back – that’s interesting. Clearly it’s been developed for women with no shoulders ;)
    And I agree, I was wondering if some interfacing would make it better. After a while of wearing it, tho, I came to like the somewhat floppy neck line.

  3. Cute pattern! I can see why it was popular. I think the fabric would have been fine as a dress – maybe just a simple sleeveless sheath-type thing -something with not a lot of width. It would have made a cute skirt, too.

  4. I love it! It looks great, and I agree that it would look fine as a sleeveless dress, in a shape that harkens to the frontier.

    I hate it when you talk about that football. (I refrain from calling it “that game”) It makes me feel so girly because I don’t care.

Comments are closed.