Ok, what’s going on here?

Do you know it is impossible to photograph a gray skirt in the early afternoon in California?  Well it is.  Trust me on this one.  Above is the completed skirt #121 from Burda Style 10/2012 that was mentioned in the sewing plans of my last post.  Who knew I’d actually make anything I’d planned? Not me, that’s for darn sure.

I started with the skirt and used fabric from my stash.  In fact the only item I needed to buy was the zipper.  The skirt is a wool from the Stonemountain half price section and I believe it’s a Hugo Boss wool.  It looks and feels like men’s suiting and is a nice light weight.  The lining is poly something silver from my stash and the  hem bias was leftover silk from my Raspberry coat lining.

The main feature of this A-line skirt is a curved front dart that becomes a pocket.  It’s not as complicated to sew as it looks and I’m lucky I chose a fairly lightweight wool to make this out of.  One version in the pattern magazine is in wool loden which is super heavy and kind of felted material.  I’d be drinking heavily if I had to sew a decent dart from a heavy wool.  As it is the light wool worked ok but I should have used a darker lining in the pocket since that shows when you move in this skirt  The only modification I made was to shorten it 2″ with a final length of 21″ from waist.  I cut a straight 42 and modified to fit my waist and arse at the side seams. Minimal fitting was necessary.

I am modelling this lovely skirt with my work heels (Payless since you asked) and the tee I wore to the gym minutes after taking these piccies.  Glamour is so not involved in my life!  My pattern review is here for those so inclined.

6 responses

  1. I love it! Very classic. Cute idea on the pocket. Maybe it would be fun to make one with a cute and surprising pocket lining that would peep out as you move.

  2. Looks Great!!! (What else is new?) The work heels and gym tee could have fooled me, I did realize till you pointed it out. As a matter of fact I though “Wow, she put on heels just to glam up this picture for us, how nice.”

Comments are closed.