Of the necks of turtles

First up, I started watching Downton Abbey three days ago.  I have now seen all but the last two episodes, by that I mean season 3 episodes 3 and 4.  I must have really loved it?  Not really.  It’s pretty but a bit too soap opera-y for me.  I’ll still watch it because it’s perfect knitting viewing.  Not interesting enough to put your knitting aside (I’m looking at you Sherlock Holmes), but enjoyable enough to keep watching.  FYI, season 1 from Netflix, season 2 from Hulu+ and season 3 on ITV via my VPN server.  The main beneficiary of this tv viewing is my EZ v-neck sweater – almost done with my second sleeve.

Anywho, I’m packing for my trip to Zurich tomorrow but did finish my turtleneck from BurdaStyle 9/2012 #104.  The fabric is a burnout type of knit, but it’s not super see through with decent 4 way stretch, but not crazy stretchy.  The pattern is well drafted and went together easily.  I constructed the whole thing mainly with my serger.  I knew I’d want to serge as much as possible so I added only 3/8″ seam allowances to all the seams.  The top is rather long and I thought I’d have to shorten it, but it turned out I loved the length when I tried it on.  It’s booty hugging, but not icky.  At least I hope.  The best part of this turtleneck top is the photo below…pattern review here.

Now I must swatch for a travel project.  I’m thinking Galathea for a travel project in laceweight.