Panty raid

I know you’re all thinking “WTF?”

Picture the scene, election night results coming fast and furious.  Me, trying to ignore the whole thing.  I’ve got jetlag and a cold as souvenirs of my trip.  I’m looking at the tee I bought as a fundraiser for breast cancer at work.  I buy one every year and we get to wear them in October.  It is very exciting to be able to wear something different when you wear a uniform all the damn time.  But now it’s November and the shirt has done it’s job.  Next year there will be a shiny new shirt to buy and this one is really not one I’d wear in real life.  What to do with it?  In previous years I just moved the shirt around my bedroom until it went to Goodwill after a few months.  But this year I thought I’d use the 98% cotton/2% spandex fabric to make undies.  Of course…

I’ve got a pattern for undies made from a pair I retired and cut up.  If you want to see this process there is a nice blog post on it here.  I used this pattern once before, again using a tee that was a bit stained but otherwise fine.  I get elastic at the fabric store in chinatown where it’s 25 cents a yard (I must remember to stock up next go round).  Making these pants I realized I much prefer sewing lacy elastic to fold over elastic.  It’s so much easier and prettier.  The bottom pair were a FOE experiment and are rather unattractive but surprisingly comfy.  Those will be “home” pants.

The top pair that’s light pink feathers is a free pdf pattern from Cloth Habit called Rosy Ladyshorts.  This is a good, easy pattern and a nice place to start making undies.  I used some stretchy jersey that I had sitting around and trimmed them with the chinatown elastic.  You don’t need a serger to make undies, just zigzag stitch and it’s a great way to use up small pieces of jersey or tees that have a bit more life in them.

So three pairs of pants whipped up in no time is a nifty bit of upcycling.  Feeling pretty pleased all the way down to my pants with my achievements and the election being over.  That was hard…

4 responses

  1. I love how you incorporated the logo, nice touch! If you handle them carefully, you can wear them sneakily under your uniform next year with the shiny new tee, and double your support ;)

  2. Panty raid! Who wouldn’t really like a post that was called that. Sucks about your cold. I’m finally up off the couch after two weeks of being down. My sympathies.

  3. What a great idea for upcyling! I have been toying with the idea of making panties, but I am totally intimidated by the thought. I will have to mull this over. It’s so difficult to find knickers I like. By the time I find them, they quit making them, so I really should follow your lead.

Comments are closed.