Why do I love gray so much?

When I received the October 2012 Burda Style Magazine I flipped through the pages and thought it was a good, darn issue.  Then I got to pattern #135, a self described “Designer Short Coat” and literally squealed.  Yes, I wanted to make a coat in the worst way.  Of course I live in California and fall is hot around these parts, so making a coat wasn’t that appealing.  It’s now a bit cooler and I got stuck in a traffic jam the other day – stuck rather close to Stonemountain with the room of half priced wools.  I saw that as a sign to go buy some wool fabric.  I was spoiled for choice in the half price section but fell for the gray Italian herringbone wool coating that came in a crazy $11/yard.  Seriously.

For the lining I’m using this piece of stashed silk floral.  Sure it’s not a fabulous, statement making match but I do already own it and probably won’t use it for anything else.  Plus I like copper, so sue me.

I must now trace off the pattern and make a muslin but I have to get up in the middle of the night and go to work so that won’t happen for a while.

For the knitters in the crowd, here’s a link to my newest favorite sweater.  I even bought the book the pattern is published in…I know!  Now I just need to hope for a traffic jam by a yarn store.

5 responses

  1. I’ve always loved grey herringbone. I’m looking forward to seeing your coat come to be. I’m kind of envious of the fabric selection you seem to have available. All I have here are the standard “craft” stores.

Comments are closed.