Potential 1000

Tiny yarn and big ‘ol blue pants.

The counter on my WordPress says this is my 1000th post!  Who knew I had that much to say?  I suspect many of those posts aren’t all that informational, but thanks to those of you who find my crafty journal at all interesting.

Moving on, what’s up craftwise with me?

I am still knitting away on my boucle pullover.  Yes, it’s interminable stockinette but it’s coming out well.  At least I think so.  I’m 3/4 of the way done with the front and it’s sleeve island up ahead.  The yarn I’m using is Garnstudio DROPS Alpaca Bouclé and it’s lovely and soft so I hope the resulting pullover will be as I envision (slouchy and comfy).

Because I’m highly suggestible, when I got an email blast from Nordic Mart proclaiming a nice sale I innocently clicked through and ended up getting what I hope is enough yarn for the new Alvinda cardigan from Twist CollectiveThe Garnstudio Baby Alpaca Silk is so yummy and soft with that nice hint of silk sheen.  It’s a pretty sweater and the blue gray is a good neutral for me.  But first to finish the Boucle pullover.

On the right is the electric blue material I’m using for a pair of pants/trousers that I’ve finally plucked up the courage to make.  I’m using a Simplicity Amazing Fit pattern (#1696).  The truth of that name has yet to be determined.  The polka dots are for the pocket linings and seam bindings for a bit of fun – don’t worry I’m not planning polka dot clown pants on my arse.  My last pant project was “not good” so I’m hoping these turn out because the bright pants trend may not be a long lived one.  I hope it’s at least long enough for me to get these pants to fit.

Other than that I shall be dazzling someone with my “professional” smile all weekend…sigh.

8 responses

  1. Congrats on your 1000th post!
    That yarn does look yummy soft and the colour is gorgeous too.
    Good luck on the pants, gotta love the name, keeping fingers crossed that it will live up to its name!
    And, what a coincidence, I also have to work on Saturday, and will be using my “professional” smile a lot too. I feel tired just thinking about it … ditto le sigh

    • That was me by the way, the comment got sent before I typed in my website :) And haha, where did I get that funny purple triangle icon from?

  2. Here’s to 1000 more! I just checked, I’m at 187 at wordpress. I still have a while to go.

    I’m sure that the boucle pullover is coming along nicely, but I can’t help but look forward to the new cardigan. It just looks more you, I don’t know how or why, but it does. I’m sure that these pants will be better than your last ones. It’s like that first sweater thing — I can’t think of anyone who knit a fantastic first sweater. (Mine is an acrylic, tiger striped monster with the sleeves sewn inside out.)

    I have to work Saturday too — tutoring stupid children. (That’s what I call it.)

  3. Wow – congrats on the 1000th post! I love your blog, but you know that already :)
    Also, that Alvinda cardi looks fab – so much so that it just became my impulse buy of the day :D
    And I can’t wai to see the trousers – don’t be intimidated! If I can make pants, so can you – you’re a much better sewist than I am, and while (so far) none of mine have been perfect, they’re all perfectly wearable, and some of them I love to bits.

  4. Je suis pas mal impressionnée de tes efforts, et de tes resultats. Je trouve que la robe fonncée, presque noir dans les photos, te fait bien (mois de février je crois). Moi, je ne fais presque plus de couture, sauf les réparations, et même là, ça peut m’attendre longtemps.

Comments are closed.