Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s the 1970s all over again!

For those of us celebrating Thanksgiving, I wish you all a great one.  For those celebrating that it’s Thursday, happy Thursday!

I have this holiday off and that is rare!  I’m usually the bitter flight attendant working on every damn holiday, fake smiling at your stories.  Nice!  Well this Thanksgiving I’ve managed to have a vacation week.  Yes, I’ve been off a week and have no crafty things to show for it.

Turns out when you have time off, you have to do all those things you’ve put off doing for months.  Turns out there was lots I’d put off.  My only crafty item is a dress I’ve finally finished!  Ooh a dress, must have been a complicated one.  No.  In fact the pattern has “Fast and Easy” printed right on the envelope.  My version was easy, but not fast.  Half score?!

I wanted to make a dress I’d seen in the real world and couldn’t find a similar pattern anywhere.  I could easily have made the pattern but that would have taken more time than I’d had available.  I have little blocks of time to use for crafty things and the thought of all the pattern work made me sad.  I ended up pulling out my vintage patterns and decided to use Butterick 3467.  I think it’s from the early 1970s, but the envelope itself isn’t dated.  I’m basing that on the price of the pattern ($1!) as the later 1970s patterns were $1.25.

My fabric is from Fabrix (of course) and is a knit that is ribbed on the right side and flat jersey on the back side with some slubs like a french terry.  It was $3 a yard (because it’s Fabrix!) so I thought that might be a good sub for the ponte I was unsuccessfully looking to buy.

My pattern is a tad big for me and adding to the mix is me using a knit which will spread when I cut it.  I constructed the dress and left the side seams open, like when you make a tee, and took in tons from the arms and body.  It fits pretty well but am too lazy to take a modeled shot right now.  Maybe if I wear it to T-day dinner I’ll take a snap (I’m feeling lazy – sorry).  It’s a pretty basic dress and because it’s made from a heavier knit, it’s super snuggle comfortable.  I shall have to test wear it to see if it stretches out like a pair of sweat pants though…

Other than that, I’ve been making a hat for a week.  Unfortunately, I’ve knit this hat 3 times already and keep ripping out my 3/4 completed work.  I think I’m on to a winner now, but progress shots of a ribbed hat at a bit too dull.

I did make a yummy vegetarian pie since I’ve got a vegetarian in the house today (we’re eating out so I don’t have to cook!).  The recipe is from here and it’s quite yummy.  If I make it again I may not make homemade biscuit dough and just use a tube to make the dish quicker.  I made it as is but used yogurt instead of mayo and added red pepper flakes to give it a kick.  A nice dish if you don’t want to keep serving your vegetarian friends pasta.

Happy Thanksgiving friends!

It’s got squash and biscuits, how is that not good?

5 responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! Hope you had a lot of yummy food and good times with your family! The dress looks really good, something I would definitely buy at the shops to wear to work! Really hope it behaves and doesn’t stretch too much.

  2. The dress looks great and fingers are crossed for it not bagging and sagging. Thanks for the pie recipe link; I’m always on the hunt for interesting main meal recipes for myself.

Comments are closed.