We’re calling today Christmas

I wanted to get my little tree into the picture, so make sure you admire the little guy.

Because I usually work over Christmas, the actual day has to move.  So this year I’m working and today is Christmas.  I will cook ham, potatoes savoyard, corn casserole (corrections:  1/4 cup melted butter and bake in an 8″ square glass pan), green beans and a hint of green salad.  Kind of more work than I’d like but it’s the only way I’m getting any Christmas dinner.

Before I begin peeling potatoes, let me finally show you my completed top.  This is a super easy batwing top with extra long sleeves that are meant to be pushed up (Burda 12-2013-128B).  I used some black cotton jersey with a foiled tiny dot thing happening.  A bit of shine, but not bling-y.  I’m not blingy. Pattern Review here.

What can I say about this top?  It’s a super easy top, comfortable to wear and took less than 2 hours start to finish.  I made most of the top on my overlocker.  I added 3/8″ seam allowances to the pattern in anticipation of overlocking the whole project.  Easy.  I twin needled the neck and cuff seams to the body to keep them flat and twin needled the hem at 1″.  Done and dusted!

I may make a few more of these, probably changing the cuff to not have it be extra long or even make elbow sleeves for a warmer weather top.  If I make as many of these as I did/do of the Renfew top, and that’s saying something.

Merry Christmas friends!  I hope you all enjoy yourselves on the day and in the manner of your choosing.

Long sleeve demonstration. Or I was secretly planning to hula.

8 responses

  1. Merry Christmas!! I like the top — it looks warm. And it’ll go with everything, being black and whatnot. (I would exist solely in black if it wouldn’t give me that depressed teen-ager look. Which is a look that I’m still young enough to pull off. Just not that well.)

  2. Merry Christmas!! You’re very smart to make merry and happy while you can and enjoy your Holiday! Have safe travels and at the end of the day may you have a merry time. Your top is fabulous! A well fitting black top is worth it’s weight in gold!

  3. Happy Holidays, despite the fact that you are working. Lovely top, and such a quick project. I love my serger, but have never used it to sew seams. I assume, one has to disengage the blade?

Comments are closed.