What the heck?

Oh isn’t it gorgeous?!

I have no business buying yarn.  I’ve been knitting on my scarf at such a pace that it will be a minor miracle if I can wear it when the weather turns less than Africa hot.

But did I buy yarn?  Well yes I did.  Here it is laying in the 80 degree, no cloud in the sky, sunshine.  Pure wool, you betcha.  Only three skeins?  Don’t be silly!  I’ve got a sweater’s worth.

Mmmm…apricots, cherries, almonds and marzipan topping. Stop the insanity.

What sweater is planned for this lovely stuff?  Grettir!  Isn’t it gorgeous?  I’ve been wanting a fair isle type project but just don’t have the patience for tiny yarn right now.  This Shelter yarn is super nice.  Granted I’ve not worked it yet, but petting it has been super.  My colorway is the gray one shown on the man sweater.  Simple and classic.

Want to see what I did with a bunch of apricots and cherries that came my way via the asian greengrocer?  Are you guessing jam?  Pysch!  It’s an apricot tart.  The recipe is here and is wonderful.  The tart dough is flaky, innovative and easy and you don’t need a rolling pin so try it!  You’ll thank me.

5 responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on knitting with this yarn. Every time he has a new collection I look through the site and contemplate buying something.

  2. The yarn and pattern look great. I’m planning to make a stranded yoke sweater myself, but probably won’t cast on until fall.

    I cannot stand almond paste (though I love almonds), but I’ll have to try that crust. I did, however, recently make an apricot tart. The crust (Alice Waters, Chez Panisse) was outstanding. I see a lot more galettes in my future. http://nymag.com/listings/recipe/apricot-galette/

  3. There is so much win in this post! Your sweater/yarn combo is beautiful. You’ll have to plan trips to visit me in order to wear it. Oh. my. goodness. An apricot tart recipe with ALMOND PASTE! That sounds incredibly delicious to me.

  4. That tart sounds and looks amazing, marzipan yum! Lovely yarn, and looking at the pattern, it may actually be something I might be capable of. Fair Isle just seems so frustrating with all the yarn that has to be carried along, but it looks like here there are just 2 colors at a time.

  5. As far as your less then desired level of knitting output is concerned, I consider knitting and yarn collecting to be two different hobbies. They are not necessarily connected in any way. So collect your yarn and knit your scarf.

    Be careful though, you may start off with big yarn and needles, but before you know it you’ll be buying all of Alice Starmore’s books and ordering natural dyed yarn from Shetland. It’s a slippery slope.

Comments are closed.