Finishing up

Tees and remnants made into pants.

I’ve had some projects sitting around for ages that involve upcycling or mending.  Sigh.  Dullsville.  Well yesterday the dam of ennui broke and I finished up a few straggler projects.

First up was some boy short knickers made from a remnant of black jersey.  I’d already cut them out and they’ve been waiting patiently for sewing up.  The two pairs of colored knickers are made from thrifted tees that I originally planned to wear for work out tees but ended up not liking.  I made those into bikini undies.  The white scalloped elastic is from Fabrix and is 25 cents a yard so these were pretty cheap undies.

Five bananas in the bread and one more sliced on top. Delicious!

I find sewing undies fiddly so I don’t make too many of them, but I wanted to reuse these materials.  I’ve sewn the elastics in the round and flat and much prefer sewing in the flat – much easier.  I’ve also found I get a much nicer elastic fit if I make the elastic almost as long as the length of the leg or top, rather than using the 10% less rule of thumb.  Maybe it depends on the elastic, but the almost at parity length works for me.

Another reuse came from bananas.  What?  Yup, when bananas go brown I peel them and freeze them.  I don’t like bananas that are terribly ripe and freezing them for later use makes sense.  I had a bunch (ha!) of them to use up so I used a new banana bread recipe and made up a delicious batch.  Ultimate Banana Bread.  Plus it used five frozen bananas up and gave me some valuable freezer space.  I wonder why I never have any left over chocolate?

5 responses

  1. I like when you call them knickers! That banana bread looks delicious. I’m pretending to have some at this very moment.

  2. I’m great at saving overripe bananas, but I’m not so great at actually doing something with them! I love banana bread, but I just can’t get all thrilled about baking at the moment, so I’ll save your recipe (thank you very much) until my baking mojo returns.

  3. Like you, I freeze the bananas and make bread, but I don’t find the flavour strong enough so I have bought banana extract as well. That’s for the next one.

Comments are closed.