Really Secret Socks

Secretsock1

After knitting dozens of socks, when it came time to turn the heel of the secret sock, I came up snake eyes.  Couldn’t remember–at all.  Yikes.  Interweave Knits Fall 2000 edition to the rescue.  I couldn’t remember those darn short row heels, yeah, I could fake it, but you try harder when it’s for someone else.  Priscilla Gibson-Roberts has an excellent pattern and explanation for the short row method.  If you don’t have this magazine, she’s got a fine book on this subject, Simple Socks.  Check it out.  No more heel flaps for me.

Lee Now that I got the brain block on heel turning sorted, I started thinking about the best socks I own.  Surprisingly, these aren’t socks I’d made, but were a gift.  Yup, they’re the Liberace commerative socks direct from the Liberace Museum in the classiest city on Earth, Vegas…of course.  How fabulous are those!  Now, I’ve never been to the museum, but my friends were very impressed by this institution and judging by their socks, I think it’s a must see on my next trip.

6 responses

  1. you are too funny. i have that damn PGR book and i CANNOT make decent heels that way. or they look decent hanging off the needles but then you put them on your foot and they look all hole-y and retarded. i CANNOT get them to look neat. it is dutch heel flap or after-thought heel for me.

  2. Oh, I am so jealous of your Liberace socks. I drove by the Liberace museum once, but didn’t have time to make it in. I am sure it is the classiest place in Vegas.

  3. I wonder if there are Wayne Newton socks and Englebert Humperdink socks and Tom Jones socks and Celine Dion socks. Don’t want any, but just wondering. I really didn’t picture you with Liberace socks. 😉

  4. I love this short row heel! I just got “Simple Sock” and tried this YO short row heel. I hated it the first time I did it, but then realized I was doing it wrong and now will not do any other kind of heel. It is really easy once you get the hang of it.

  5. Man, I’d love a pair of those Liberace socks. The best kind of kitsch.
    (Like my dad’s ties. He collects vintage ties and he has one with Buckwheat, from the Lil Rascals, plastered all over it.)

Comments are closed.