Happy Diversion

Rooster Rather than bore you with pictures of curly, whirly stockinette back pieces of Brier, I’ll remind you that this Wednesday is the start of the lunar New Year.  In the Chinese calendar, this is the year of the Rooster.  I found a fun page here with lots of info and fun New Year card making.

Now wasn’t that more fun than a stockinette back piece?  Fear not, Brier is well underway.  I have been thinking of NOT sewing up the sweater’s center back and arm seams wrong way out as described in the pattern.  I adore that in the tweedy version shown in the Rowan book, but my rich, red Peruvian Highland wool is much smoother and sleeker looking.  I’ve been thinking of ribbon or satin trim (since I don’t like the selvages at the back vent showing).  I’ll kick the idea around for a bit and may end up knitting a small-type edging at the back vent.

I also saw this sweet little girl’s sweater in my Burda sewing magazine this month.  It’s a lacy little number, nice and light for the LA girl I’ve got in mind.  I’ll have to root around in the garage to see if there is any suitable stash yarn for this one.  I mean, that stash needs to be reduced as Maryland is coming up soon!

6 responses

  1. Can’t wait to see what you end up doing instead of the exposed seams. My Brier is 99% done– just needs buttons and the collar sewn on. I think the seams look pretty nice sewn with the edges turned in– the seam is still visible since I backstitched instead of mattress stitched.

Comments are closed.