Fun with Pocket Change

CovergirlSince I’ve not found any good patterns in the latest knitting magazines I thought I’d drop 29 cents at the thrift store to get some inspiration.  This pattern leaflet dates from 1955 and brought to us by Coats and Clark.  It’s price in 1955 was 25 cents, so I don’t feel too bad about the 4 cent markup in the intervening fifty years!  Talk about appreciation.  The content actually quite good, though the sweaters are very simple and basic.  But hey, the latest Rebecca cost me $20 and I probably won’t make a thing out of it so what the hell.

Crazy_lady

The best thing about the leaflet are the pictures of seemingly demented folks wearing acrylic knitwear.  My fave adult is this gal who looks like a demonic young Laura Bush.  She’s got a truly evil look on her face and is rather frighteningly holding a hockey stick.  I fear she’s just whomped someone with it and is congratulating herself on choosing a red sweater that cleverly hides the blood spatter.

Demon_spawn On the demon spawn, uh, child picture front, check out the face on that boy.  You just know he’s now a full fledged member of the San Quentin Aryan Lowrider gang, despite the best knitting efforts of his momma.  I believe the young lady pictured now lives in a trailer somewhere in the south, I don’t know why, but I’ve got a feelin’…

7 responses

  1. You are so right, they are demented. That lady with the hockey stick looks like she is two minutes away from total breakdown. And that’s just what you want, a crazy woman with a hockey stick. At least she’ll look cute as she flips out, wearing a very snazzy striped sweater. 😉

  2. Shades of Stitchy McYarnpants’ Museum of Kitschy Stitches…!
    Wouldn’t it be a hoot if you could track these characters down and find out what actually happened to them? Just how troubled did they actually become after having their photos exposed to the entire knitting/crafting world looking like this? How much therapy did the kids require in order to live a normal life?
    I loved it…thanks for the giggle!

  3. So right with the faces on those children. I was about that age back then and maybe don’t remember the pods or the alien abductions all around me.

Comments are closed.