Progress?

Morefabric I have not finished a thing.  Nary a sock or scarf has come to fruition.  Did I even work on the new disco skirt?  NO!  Would that stop me from hitting the clearance aisle at Joann for a looksie?  NO!  I picked up those fine fabrics you see before you for under $20.  I know, I had to.

The black at the left is a pretty black rayon voile with a windowpane check woven into the fabric.  It’s got a great drape and I have absolutely no idea what I’ll use it for, but at about $5 out the door I had to have it.  Knit_dress

The black floral is a knit that I’m planning on using for the short sleeve wrap dress in view B of the Neue Mode pattern.  This pattern requires a 60" wide knit fabric, and believe it or not, my extensive fabric selection did not include anything like that.  I had to Ruched_topget the knit.

The yummy turquoise is a slinky, silky polyester that I plan on using to make some version of the short or 3/4 sleeve top in this Butterick pattern.  I think the silky drape will be a great match with the ruched sides of the top, plus it may look adorable with the disco skirt.  I’ve got to play with the pattern a bit, so we’ll see what I can cobble together.

Now I’ve got to get sewing!  Pronto.

7 responses

  1. Have you been/know of The Sewing Workshop in SF on Balboa St. They have a site also – to give you an idea. Don’t know if their patterns are along your tastes but they are a good source for tips/ideas, etc. Miss your knitting!

  2. The sewing bug is getting around. I sepnt more time in Hancock Fabrics in the last week than I had in the last 6 months. What’s up with that?
    Can’t wait to see the wrappy dress! (Or the disco skirt for that matter!)

  3. You’re one of the reasons I wanted a sewing machine so much! I’m in love with those fabrics and the patterns you chose. The slinky dress and top are going to look great you. Thankfully, we get American patterns over here so I can go to town on picking out some fab ones. I wish I could take you with me for fabric shopping! I bet you’re an ace at it.

Comments are closed.