Princess Devil in da house!

M4620 Guess who finished the princess devil costume for her favorite 6 and one half year old!  Oh yeah, baby–I managed to recreate a version of the sketch Miss Zoe made for me in Peets the other weekend.  I needed to make a dress with pointy bottoms and sleeves and couldn’t find a costume pattern that met my needs.  I did find McCalls #4620 which is a witch costume.  That’s not at all devilly, but had potential.  I altered the pattern to make points at the bottom of the princess panels.  I used organza for the godets, and only made the top parts of those panels opaque to give it some kicky sDevillyheerness, but not enough peekaboo to excite the wackos out there.   (The things ya gotta worry about.)

Okay, here’s my version!  It’s all red and devilly, but still very princess-like.  It has the requisite pointy sleeves and bottom bits.  I hope it fits, I made it smaller than my usual attempts since I always make things too big for Miss Z.  I mean, she’s a growing girl but I don’t think there’ll be a big growth spurt between now and the 31st.  Now to collect my cut of the fun size Snickers as payment.

11 responses

  1. Oh, girls that age are so much fun at Halloween. Abigail was a “glamorous witch” — a witch, but all sparkly and dressy. Who knew. It was a purchased costume, but the ladies at the judging gave her first prize in the costume-judging contest, because I’m pretty sure they thought I made it. I have felt guilty about it all these years, but it sure did make Ab feel good at the time. Heh.

  2. cute!!!!! how awesome that she designed it, you made it, and now it’s a real live princess devil dress! can’t wait to see the pics of it on!

  3. cute!!!!! how awesome that she designed it, you made it, and now it’s a real live princess devil dress! can’t wait to see the pics of it on!

  4. Wow! Just like the napkin except gorgeous! You’re amazing and Zoe is very lucky. If the sewing were up to me, she’d be a ghost every year … thank you so much Silvia.

  5. That is so absolutely ADORABLE. All she needs is a knitted red devil hat with tails. Hee hee!
    P.S. Snickers is perfect payment. Some candy corn, too. And how about some mini Almond Joys? (Off to go eat breakfast now. I’m hungry.)

Comments are closed.