Back Order This

Scarf2Scarf4One of my dear friends had a birthday in September.  I knew she wanted a bracelet from a certain catalog so I order that up and thought that would be that.  Well one month later, there was still no bracelet–apparently it was back ordered and the only reason I knew that, was that I kept checking the order status.  Uh, what no email all of a sudden–they have no problem emailing me their sale blasts?  I was seriously annoyed and it was three weeks past the occasion already!  Bastards.

Well I put on my knitting cap and canceled that freaking bracelet order and found some Sanskrit yarn at Artfibers when Claudia and I cruised by last week.  This is 100% sari silk hand spun in Nepal.  I’ve always liked the look of this richly colored, textured yarn, but all the examples I’d ever seen were sooooo scratchy.  When I petted the Sanskrit I was amazed at how soft and lustrous it was.  All the skeins are of course slightly different, as they’re hand spun, but I found a 276 gram skein of primaries that would be gorgeous on my friend.

Scarf3The pattern I chose was the Multi-Directional Scarf pattern to show off the yummy color changes to maximum effect.  This is a fun pattern and it’s free!  I know it’s quite popular to knit up this pattern in variegated yarn with long repeats.  Well, I used 276 grams of Sanskrit on #10 needles and made a scarf 4" x 60" not including fringe.  I have NO yarn leftover.  None.  Zip.

I know it’s hard to see the color on computer screens, but it looks so pretty in the sunlight.  You can just imagine all those gorgeous saris and huge bags of scraps and remnants getting mushed up for the spinners.  I don’t actually know how it’s done, but in my mind they have big wine making vats full of silk remnants.  I can dream.  Sari Silk Syrah anyone?

4 responses

  1. Is this legal? It feels like I’m answering my first personals ad. Anyway, I am the production manager at Artfibers and overcome with shocked humility at such nice things being said about us by bloggers. To answer that Question about Sanskrit:
    The Indian term for handspun sari silk yarn is “cho cho”, and there is no precise translation, for reasons that you will soon appreciate. Our spinner in Nepal gave us an education on the subject. There are at least six grades of cho cho, the lowest of which is made from recycled ART SILK. ART SILK contains no silk at all. In the premium grade it is pure “virgin” viscose, but the lowest grade consists of sweepings without provenance from floors that you personally would not associate with. Composition may contain bits of newspaper in Sanskrit (interesting!) and cigarette butts (not so).
    Better grades of cho cho are mixed viscose and silk, with the top one being pure silk. We asked our spinner to go one grade higher than the top grade normally produced. This specifically meant that we selected a sample skein and had the whole production run done by the person who made that one, who happened to be the best spinner in the village. All of the fibers were hand culled and we were guaranteed that any second rate stuff was withdrawn (for consumption by lesser mortals than our customers), leaving only top grade silk. It was delivered washed and sparkling clean (we paid extra for that — normally it gives off clouds of dust), after which we gave it a gentle bath in Seventh Generation Organic Fabric Softener, which helps to release the overtwist from handspinning, improving suppleness and drape.
    If you’d like to know more, please send an email. Thank you!
    Nyle

  2. Well, here i was getting ready to agree on how nice the Artfibers sari silk is, and look! the production manager has posted! I’m in awe.
    PS if Artfibers is still reading, you are also my favorite yarn store. Keep making that Rune….

Comments are closed.