The progress, she is made.

Progress_2 I’d like to say I wore the shirt in my wardrobe that clashes most with this color yarn to highlight the progress of the sweater, but no.  It’s my jammies…Hey it’s Sunday and before noon–jammies are ok.  I’d stay in them all day if I didn’t have to leave the house.

As you can see in the photo, I’m continuing well with the sweater.  After the separation of the sleeves, I needed to calculate the waistline decreasing.  I’m happy with the way it’s going, so my calculator has not let me down.  I’ve also got TONS of yarn left!  I’d hoped to make this a long sweater with a hood and so far it’s looking possible.  This is where you all point out that I "always" think I have enough yarn and often end up with one sleeved sweaters.  Noodges…

My plan here is the start the sleeves when the current hank of yarn I’m knitting with runs out.  I don’t want too many balls hanging around.

As a non sequitur, I was assigned to bring the sweet potatoes at our work potluck last week.  I don’t like really sweet marshmallow laden sweet potatoes, so I checked around for a grown up recipe.  I made this recipe from Epicurious and it was great!  Roasted sweet potatoes with balsamic vinegar and shallots and mushrooms!  Yum!  I made it with part shallots and part sweet onion and subbed crimini mushrooms.  Made it the night before and microwaved it at work and it was even better the next day.  If I didn’t cook but once a year, I make it with even less oil and non-stick pans.  Yumee.

5 responses

  1. The recipe sounds fab. I agree — I’ve never eaten, much less made, that marshmallowy thing. Scares the bejesus out of me. I was in danger of having to do so for the first time this year, coz the daughter’s boyfriend was supposed to be coming for dinner, and I asked the very dangerous question, “What’s his favorite Thanksgiving dish, so he feels like it’s Thanksgiving?” and the answer was that dreaded marshmallow thing. But now it turns out he is not coming, so my kitchen will remain pure. =)

  2. Mmmmm, that sounds delicious. I’ve never been into the marshmallowy thing either, and thankfully neither is the rest of my family. But this balsamic version, this I have to try.

Comments are closed.