Scarf it up

Mare_scarf

I’ve been soooo loving the Trekking 100 sock yarn, that I’ve been neglecting the Christmas knitting!  That Trekking is like the crack of sock yarn.

Well, I kicked that monkey off my back long enough to finish this gift.  My friend asked for a short scarf the went up the neck and scrunched and was made from the yarn with bits (aka tweed).  Luckily she made this request in the middle of Stash in Berkeley AND picked up a ball of yarn to illustrate the color she wanted.  That’s just about the easiest present around, no?

This scarf is what I came up with.  It’s made from Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran Tweed and is nice and soft.  I used the potpourri color (117) and liked it very much.  I cast on 32 stitches (I used tubular cast on), first and last stitch are selvage stitches, started the keyhole 4" from the cast on edge and made it about 3 1/4" long.  Kept on knitting until the scarf was 33" long and used a tubular bind off.  It’s finished dimensions are 5" (unstretched) by 33" long.  I used about one and a half balls of the yarn and size 6 needles (if you have "normal" tension use about size 8).

After taking this triumphant shot, I dunked it in water to wet block and it’s even softer now.  I may have to make one for myself next.

5 responses

  1. What kind of tubular cast on do you use? I’ve used one as described in Nancie Wiseman’s finishing techniques book, which requires waste yarn. Then, in the newest IK magazine, there is a sock pattern that uses a “1×1 rib cast on”, which is described as a tubular cast on. I’m jsut curious to know what others like for their tubular cast-ons…

Comments are closed.