Popcorn Balls

Back_with_thread_trace The shearling sweater continues.  I’d promised you some a photo of a sleeve in progress, but my camera batteries were dead.  Despite being inundated with email pleas to post those exciting pictures, I decided to prolong your agony by showing you my princess lines.

This pattern says something about knitting one stitch in reverse stockinette to denote the position of the princess line.  It gives copious charts and instructions regarding the placement of said line, but I thought that was stupid.  I’m perfectly able to place my princess lines solo. The Phildar site has been redesigned.  This was  a free pattern, and the new site doesn’t seem to have a free pattern anymore.  Since I don’t speak French, does someone know if my notion is correct?

Back_with_lines I began my out of the box effort by harking back to the very first class at FIT that one is required to take.  You spend and entire semester, you heard me a semester, learing how to baste, thread trace and pin the "FIT" way.  There are different kinds of thread tracing to denote every part of a garment’s construction.  Now, I have never worked at a couture house, but I’ve never seen anyone use these techniques in the real I-bought-it-at-Target-for-$5.99 garment industry world.  I have found a use for the thread trace in this sweater though.  Unfortunately, the wonky uneven stitches I employed would have gotten me a do-over.

Popcorn_1 The wonky stitches aside, I decided where the princess line should be, picked up what I thought the pattern told me to pick up in the way of stitches (I’ve stopped translating completely) and knit one row.  That didn’t look like enough fluff bumps, so I knit another row, still skimpy.  One more row and a bind off.  Voila.  You see my result.  I’m happy with it.  And if you look at it from eye level, it looks like the surface of an alien planet covered by mounds of popcorn.  Yum.

10 responses

  1. Here’s how to translate the phildar page.
    Go to google, over the address bar, click on images or one of the other things, until you see “more” on the right, click on more. Then go down to the bottom, right and click on “translate”. Where you see “search pages written in:” click on the blue arrow and choose french instead of “any language”. then put the phildar address in the address bar, and click on google search. When the site comes up, click on “Translate this page”. Hope that helps! Unfortunately, any other pages on the site you want to see – you’ll have to go through the same process.

  2. I think the free patterns are still there… you just have to click on the link “Modeles Presse” and register with the site — even if you don’t know French, it’s pretty easy to figure out which boxes to enter what into. It seems like it’s just registering for their newsletter. After you finish the registration process it gives you access to a bunch of things including the free patterns — and from what I can tell, it looks like a lot more patterns than before…

  3. I love how your Phildar jacket is coming along. Can’t wait to see the finished product. Although I am not working on this project myself, I have worked with the Castel and love it – hope they come out with more colors for next year.
    As for the Phildar site, what do you think? I love the new look and yes, it seems that there are still free patterns (but from past issues). Good luck!

  4. yup on what everyone else said. Free patterns are still available. But now you have to register with them and they are not the same as before.
    Learn the lesson- you see it you get it and get it QUICK šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.