Bolero Finish Line

Bolero_1Was anyone wondering if I’d ever finish my Olympic knitting project?!  I was wondering.  It’s actually been done for several days, but I decided to wet block it (wash it really) since I took it to Vegas to try to get it done and it smelled slightly of Vegas.  It took a coon’s age to dry!

I like the yarn (Cascade 128 chunky – about 4.5 skeins), I like the pattern (Rebecca #28), but I’m only so so on the finished product.  I didn’t use the recommended yarn (which is a gorgeous fuzzy GGH yarn) and made the sleeves long, but I’m going to have to reserve judgment until I wear this think around.  Who knows, I may grow to love it.

Cormo1_1 I was also poking around the knitting bag and came upon a sweater made of some variegated cormo of two Maryland Sheep and Wool agos.  I was making up the pattern based upon a Phildar picture, but I just didn’t have enough yarn to make the sleeves as long as I like them.  It bugged me so I shoved it all the pieces (I was done knitting all the pieces and was out of yarn) and stashed it for a year.  Very mature don’t you think.  Then I came across it a few days ago and decided I’d never be happy with it as is so I ripped it all out and washed the yarn to make it unkinky.  I was thinking I could send it to my sister and have her dye it chocolate brown and I can make a little pulli or cardie, maybe add another color to give me just that little bit more yardage.  Do you think Claudia would do it?  How about if I ask her nicely and not just spring it on her in a blog entry?  Please please please please please…mmm…chocolate!

5 responses

  1. I like the sleeves and the collar and the button, but is it comfortable? I remember sewing boleros, I think in the mid-70’s?
    As for drying time — I washed an aran sweater and it took all last week to dry! We’re getting intense squalls today but lovely sun in between (and intimidating clouds blowing by rather quickly).

Comments are closed.