Progess, or lack thereof

Today I’d hoped to show you the budding excellence of my skinny mohair color block scarf, but alas it was not to be.  My digital camera has been on the fritz for a month or so and I’d made the camera operable with scotch tape and the judicious use of finger pressure.  Sure it was hard to take the picture and impossible to see the screen, but it worked dammit!  Unfortunately, today it decided it was time to stop humoring me and stop working AT ALL.  I know I need a new one, but wanted to Csexs600orhold off until money magically appeared in my pocket and I could get one.  This did not happen before my trusty old Olympus bit the big pixel in the sky.  It was very old and was certainly a camera among men…well you know what I mean.

I’ve done my research and printed out and studied the Consumer Reports comparison of ultra compact digital cameras.  I knew it had to be small or I’d never take it anywhere and it should be pretty basic point and shoot since that’s all I really use it for.  AND the smaller the better.  I’d narrowed it down to the highly regarded Casio Exilim Zoom EX-Z750 (7 MP) or the slightly smaller and ever so slightly less glowingly reviewed Casio EX-S600 (6 MP).  I really couldn’t decide, they’re about the same price.  One had better reviews but is bigger.  One is tiny, has good reviews and is ORANGE!  Guess which one will be coming to my house?  Yup, went for form not function; orange not big…I compared prices on www.bizrate.com and www.pricegrabber.com and there is some variation, so check both sites for the best deal.  I bought my camera from this place, they have a 21 day return policy so I’ll test fire it and see how I like it.  Fingers crossed and bringing lunch to work for a few weeks.

Next time, knitting content.  Promise.

13 responses

  1. Rest in peace, Olympus. You served us well…sewing shots, knitting shots, jumping on the bed shots…all the joy you gave us. We’ll miss ya!
    Now, time for the new. I can’t wait to see the Casio. A friend at school has a flat camera like that (not orange, but I think it’s a Casio) and it takes some GREAT shots. And so what if the bigger got better reviews? Bigger ain’t always better.

  2. Thanks for the low-down on the cameras AND a good place to buy them. I dread buying one b/c of the choices – so many. I’ll patiently await your pics 🙂

  3. As a person who selected her new cell phone based strictly on the fact that it is pink (and was willing to change carriers to get it if I needed to), I would have gone for orange (which they did not yet have when I bought my camera!) too.

  4. I’m curious to see how the camera works out as I am looking for one! I too, cannot resist the orange. If you like yours, I may soon follow! After all, that tax refund check just came!!

Comments are closed.