Summer top bend over – part 1

I must begin by saying I love love love Anthropologie.  Their merchandise selection is divine and I could blindfold myself and randomly choose clothing from the place and be thrilled with my choices.  Sure, they’re on the high side of my do-able pricing, but Pile_o_stuffthey’ve got some great shit.

So the latest Anthropologie catalog hits my desk and I immediately start thumbing through it after my squealing ceases.   When I came to this little item, I thought, that would be a great little summery type blouse.  Read further, it’s $278.  That’s US dollars, not crazy Monopoly money.  Not_a_braWell that seems high.  I know how much this stuff is wholesale, that’s my job after all.  $278 is like a $230 markup.  Seems like crazy talk.

What do I do?  That’s right.  Knock that shit off.  Oh yeah baby.  Theirs:  made in the USA at $278.  Mine:  made in USA at $6 (and that’s buying material retail).  Theirs:  done and on the shelves.  Mine: not quite done…but getting there.  Stay tuned.

18 responses

  1. Oh. Yeah. I’m so with you on Anthropologie, both on their design and on their prices. I’m just glad they don’t ship to the UK; it saves me a logt of angst. And that knock-off is gonna be awesome. I envy you being able to wear it, too; on me, it would look more like knocked-up.

  2. Yeah, what AmyP said!!! Holy mother of ….. well, nevah mind. I’m a heathen, so those words really don’t have the meaning they should when I say them. But you get my drift. I’m sorry to say that honestly, that looks too maternity-toppish for me. And at $278, that better be the baby of Brad Pitt under there. šŸ˜€

  3. i hate anthropologie. i think they’re a bunch of posers. the models always look like half starved ragamuffins. IMHO. šŸ™‚
    you on the other hand, you are lovely!

  4. Hey, good for you — see it, make it, I like that. I have my one and only purchase from Anthropologie sitting here waiting to be returned — the color was nothing at all like I expected, nor the sizing (although I probably shoulda, coulda anticipated the sizing issue).

  5. anthropologie, free people I love all that–sigh–last week they had a sale at the anthropologie store near me. And their prices were sort of normal! Good luck, what a great idea to knock it off!

  6. I love Anthropologie and living 2 blocks away from one, well, much of my wardrobe comes from there. But their prices are getting more and more outrageous, and that’s just one of the reasons I just got a sewing machine. I don’t sew, yet, but I’m really looking forward to being able to do what you are doing. Can’t wait to see it!

  7. Yeah! Go Sil and your mad skills! I love how you took a photo of yourself trying on the piece inside out.
    P.S. I printed out the strapless halter dress and hope to knock it off this summer. Tee hee!

  8. I know all about markups and margins, but I really think that Anthropologie must be making a killing on their margin. Cute clothing, but I wait for the sales. I guess this is further proof that I need to conquer my fear of sewing.

  9. that top is gorgeous… RIDICULOUSLY priced… But very cute and fun.
    You have such divine tastes lady. And I am SOOOO green with envy at your ability to make one for yourself!

  10. I love anthropologie, I’ve just spent over $2000 there in the last few months, I shop only online for all my clothes and shoes too, I also just spend over a grand on shopbop as well and angelas runway, they’ve got great stuff! I love the catalogues, and so far all the clothes I’ve ordered have been great quality and have fitted great, also gotten lots of compliments on the outfits when I went to europe, everyone checked out my style and asked me where I bought stuff, and that was parisian woman! I guess that style hasn’t hit europe, they look still very much dressed like in the early 90’s in paris nothing special, I was hoping to get a good dose of style there but I ended buying nothing at all, apart from tons of french comic books.

Comments are closed.