Stripey Goodness

1113 The striped felted laptop bag has been zipping along on size 11 needles.  As you can see from the photos, the progress is fast and furious and what you see is about 12" long.  I’m shooting for 50" long, so I shan’t rest upon my laurels.  I’m enjoying the stripe sequences very much and the random stripe generator is great.  You just enter your information and preferences and keep hitting refresh until you find the right combination to your eye.  My color choices seem to scream baby blanket, but maybe I’m just being overly critical.

Stripe_jogI did have to think about weaving in massive amounts of ends.  In a nutshell, I didn’t wanna…I know shocking.  I decided to change colors by knitting 5 to 6 stitches with both colors, old and new, before the end of the row.  That way I can knit on in the new color and snip off the old yarn without having any ends to weave in.  I wouldn’t do this in a sweater because it’s not pretty, as you can see from the photo at the right.  But I figure this bag will shrink over 1/3 and it probably won’t be noticeable, and I won’t care by then.  Really, I won’t.

I’m also thinking of lining the bag with some light cotton since it’s been pointed out to me that static isn’t good for electronic things.  I don’t think static would be a problem if I didn’t line it, but it may just be even cuter with a lining.  Any input on whether felted bags would be bad for your laptops?  I’ve already solicited opinions of some people, so if you have any ideas I’d like to hear them…

12 responses

  1. i never weave in ends on things that will be felted. just leave the ends hanging and then cut them off after they’re felted.
    do felted things give off static? i thought the felting sort of removed that problem?

  2. I’d definitely line it if you’re going to put a laptop in it. Felted wool is just as good at creating static charge as unfelted and one static shock can ruin your laptop’s whole day. Besides, there must be some very cute cotton print in your fabric stash that would be just perfect for lining that little bag once the felting is all done, and that would up the cute factor another notch.

  3. I love the stripes – very summery and tropical. I think a cute cotton lining would make it even better. I love the weave as you go idea and I’ll have to use that on the felted bag I’m working on.

  4. When I’m felting something stripey (and to be honest, even when I’m not felting!), I always do a Russian join, aka a spit join. You’re just felting the two ends together, and since it will all be felted in the end, it works perfectly! And then, no ends to weave in and no unsightly gaps. Try it, you’ll like it 🙂

  5. I just this moment bound off my felted laptop bag. I’m going to do a little weaving in of ends, but not be obsessive about it. I never even thought of the static problem….. sigh…….

  6. What Carolyn said….I never bother either, just knot them and leave them! Although, I bet you can’t see your 2 colour bit anyway once it’s felted 🙂
    No idea about static I’m afraid, but lining is definitely pretty!

Comments are closed.