Tip top stripey top

Top261336_frt The stripey top that I knocked off from an Anthropologie item is complete.  It only took about an hour to sew up but I was being a slacker.  I finished it yesterday and I very much like it.  As you can imagine it’s super comfy and would be suitable for a maternity top, if indeed I was using my uterus for such purposes.  I’m not, but it’s nice to have options I guess.

I didn’t use a pattern for this top, I just looked at the picture of theirs and copied it.  Their top has an elastic back, but I made pleats in back too.  I thought I’d just go big if I was going to go for it.  My top is 29" long from shoulder and I’d guesstimate that I used about 1.5 yards of 55" cotton fabric.  My cost was $6, theirs costs $278 Nl_6603(hence the need to knock it off).  While I know it’s not usually cheaper to sew (or knit) clothes, it certainly was in this case.

INl_6604‘d like to get busy and make some more little tops for warm weather wear.  I’ve picked up a few New Look patterns and especially like these looks,  New Look 6603, and New Look 6604.  Cute, easy and way under $200 per top.   🙂

14 responses

  1. wow Sil!!! NICE! It’s a perfect rip-off! I LOVE IT!
    also? Why does Anthropologie have to charge the price of a small tropical island for the most basic items of clothing? It pisses me off every time I walk in there.

  2. ooh i like that and it’s really cute on you.
    but i’d hear circus music where ever i went if i wore that
    (not to mention, i also have a clown car)

  3. I luuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuurve it! It looks better than on that mannequin. Clearly, the Sil Smock is more stylish than the Anthropologie one.

  4. Very, very nice – you’re styling S! Hmm, gotta hang out here more, maybe your cleverness will rub off on me 🙂

  5. love the knock out version! actually i think it looks just like anthro’s! i was gasping to find the price tag for theirs was more than 200. but, granted it made with silk or something fancy… 1.5 yards of silk/linen or whatever will never cost that much. anyway i adore your top!

Comments are closed.