Looking good?

This post could take the form of – which do you want first, the good news or the bad news?  Perhaps I’m being a tad melodramatic (who moi?), but I shall present the photographic evidence and y’all can decide whether I’m screwed.

Backfront_1The photo at left is the "good news".  I’ve completed the front and back of the Phildar sweater that I wanted to wear at Rhinebeck.  It seemed like a totally doable goal when I got the yarn about a month ago.  Sure there’s ends to weave in and sewing up of stripe sequences, but it’s doable.  Hell people, I’ve made ballgowns with boned bodices.  I can sew up a freaking sweater in a moving car.  While driving no less.

Now the "bad news"…Yup those sleeves aren’t, uh, quite done.  I Sleeviesam blessed with two (slightly ape length) arms and as one notes in the illustration at right, the left arm is getting shortchanged.  (Yes, I am the sister who went to art school – so let’s not talk about this illustration).  I will have you know that I am blowing off my homework tonight inorder to knit on this sleeve.  I’m sure my pass/no pass grade won’t be in jeopardy by one late assignment.  THIS is my level of commitment to making this sweater in time for Rhinebeck.  You may also be interested to note that the first time I went to Rhinebeck I wore a sweater that was safety pinned together because it just wasn’t getting done.  It was hideous, but I wore that out in public.  If you see me wearing this around Rhinebeck with safety pinned seams and duct tape holding that left sleeve to my body, SAY NOTHING.  Just nod knowingly and appreciate the effort.  Then buy me a drink.

