Mary-Kate and Ashley Socks

Soxmka1

Even though I tried to make these sock twins identical, turns out they came from two different eggs.  They will henceforth be known as the M-K and Ashley socks.  The non identical nature of these items does not bother me, in fact I’m wearing them to work as I type this.  My freakishly small feet are warm and toasty even though the stripes don’t match up.

If you’d like some yummy stripey socks of your very own you’ll need to go to the etsy and ask Twisted if she’ll dye you up some yarn.  She calls this pink and brown colorway Neapolitan.  This name makes a bit more sense than MK n Ash, so inquire after it with it’s ice cream name.  I’ve also got her Secret Stripes yarn, that’s next up on deck.

The "pattern" is my usual plain vanilla standby sock.  I used 60 stitches, picot hem and short row heel and toes.  I can knit these in my sleep which usually means I drag them along to everything.  If you want info on the shortrow heel and toe method, I like the explanation from Priscilla Gibson-Roberts’ Simple Socks book.  There’s also a very good article in Interweave by Ms. G-R in the Fall 2000 issue.  If you subscribe to Interweave but don’t have this back issue, they’ve got a pdf of this article on their subscriber page.

Wonder Twin powers ACTIVATE!

8 responses

  1. So which sock has the ‘issues’? ;^)
    Very nice! I have that book and I swear I really have tried, but I just don’t understand her way of doing short rows. At least, I can get that picot edge to work for me. *L*

  2. M-K and Ashley are NOT IDENTICAL???? What?!
    Last year my mother and aunt tried to convince me that THEY are not identical, also. Well, they were home-birthed in rural Quebec in 1939, so there was no one there to be able to know if they are identical or not. But they are IDENTICAL. So identical that my daughter could not tell them apart when she was a toddler. “Two Grandmas!” she once said. It was a Kodak moment, for sure.
    Anyhoo, last year my aunt gave blood for the express (selfish, I say) purpose of learning her blood type and the card the Red Cross sent her has a different blood type than my mother. Now they are insistent that they are NOT identical, whilst *I* am insistent that the freaking Red Cross made a freaking mistake and she ought to get that fixed! (although I have done some research since that time, and my aunt had cancer and chemo 20 years ago, and the research that I read says that only in rare instances, *such as after chemotherapy* can one’s blood type change. I believe that might have happened. But I’m seriously more in belief that the R.C. made a mistake on the card — a mistake that could be fatal — but she won’t go back and check again.) Long story in your comments on an aside. Sorry.
    Oh, yeah. Nice socks.

Comments are closed.