Jewelry is good

Necklace_2 I must begin by saying I love glass – art glass, glass sculptures, functional glassware.  I’m fascinated by all that stuff.  Those Dale Chihuly sculptures rock my world.

At Rhinebeck I found the Movingmud booth (again).  At Maryland I bought their glass shawl pins and made them into necklaces.  At Rhinebeck they had these cool big glass buttons.  I immediately fell in love.  Hard.

I bought this big button and added a choker length of satin cord, some silver fastenings and a lobster claw closure.  It took about $2 in materials and 10 minutes of labor with needle nose pliers to make this into a fabby necklace.

Seems like a good mix of craftiness and retail therapy that nets me a cool necklace.

11 responses

  1. That’s so pretty! This weekend at the Oakland Convention Center there is a bead show that I’m going to. I heading to all the lampwork glass, let me tell you. I love glass too.

  2. i really love that piece. looking at their website, it looks like they make the flat buttons with a torch. which means in theory I “should” be able to figure out how to create them. you’ve given me well needed inspiration to start working with glass again!

  3. Wow, really gorgeous! I like how you make your “jewels” – the simplicity how it’s put together stands out. Yes, like the poster Rebecca said – you’re hired:)

  4. I saw some really cut tear drop shaped glass pendants at SOAR this year. They were nice, but I can just see myself breaking it during the first wearing. *L* I think it’s neat what you’ve done with your big buttons. 😀

Comments are closed.