Sewing high

Blouse2 Yee haw, a FO of the sewing variety.  This easy little blouse is a Built by Wendy pattern that I made out of some 70s looking cotton from the stash.  It’s Simplicity #4111.

The sewing up of this blouse was pretty straight forward.  No special tricks or skills necessary to make this pattern.

I did find that the neckline is lower than I’d have wanted and I have to wear a tank underneath – or else I’d be yanking the top up all day and trying not to show the world my boobages.  Maybe I should make a size smaller next time, or actually take the time to measure the pattern to determine its finished dimensions.  Crazy talk.

After I finish a project I like to figure out what I want to make next.  Right now I’m baffled.  I want to use up stash fabrics so I immediately get ideas for things I’d have to go out and buy fabric for.  It’s contrary in my head ya know.  It’s also hard to pick because I’ve got a buttload of clothes already. I know that’s not the reason I sew, but it does factor in.  Maybe a pencil skirt or a fun camo skirt or maybe another Built by Wendy top – 3964 tunic with funky knit fabric?  I’ve got fabrics for all those…

Maybe I’ll just knit on Ariann and save my strength for eating stuffing and pie.  Happy Thanksgiving friends!

13 responses

  1. Oh! A great stash buster is the In Town Bag from Amy Butler. I just made one and it was so fast and easy i am making another. Blue with tiny white polka dots and khaki lining. It takes very little fabric so you could use anything from your stash. I am hooked.

  2. Cute top! I think it looks good with the tank under. What about the wrap-dress-shortened-to-tunic idea you had? I liked that so much I bought a pattern & fabric (but haven’t made it yet). It is a great idea.

  3. I like the length, the bodice detail, and the scoop neck (it doesn’t look too low). Are the cuffs gathered? How would it look with a bit of flare in the sleeve? The colors are perfect with your hair.
    Ah heck, sew a ball gown! It’ll gobble up what, 7 or 8 yards of fabric? You *do* have lengths of 7 yards of taffeta or Shantung in your stash, right?
    DD and I bought a bunch of Vogue patterns in that recent sale (including a few ball gowns). She’s going to sew either V7969 (wafty tunic) or V8322 (princess seam blouse) next. I’m plugging away on the FLAK, in that determined must-finish mode.
    Fog again today, and over a thousand cormorants flying by in long lines across the inlet, skimming the water.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. I have that pattern and now I have to make it. See what you have done? 🙂 I say make the pencil skirt. You need it. Isn’t it somehow always easier to find things to make that don’t use your stash?

  5. That carolyn is a weasel. I don’t know though. Maybe you’ll fall for it.
    😉
    Don’t get me wrong: you look cute in that. But there is something about that print that reminds me of mother’s family room curtains in the South City house.

Comments are closed.