Trollop

Frontvex1For those of you wondering what that Swiss chocolate eating knitter has been up to, wonder no more dear ones.  Yarny progress below.

I’ve been slogging away at the first sleeve of Vex.  For those not in the know, it’s been deemed that we shan’t be using the phrase "SLEEVE ISLAND" any more.  Nope, no islands here unless they be actual islands.  So I’m working on the first sleeve.  It will go into the pictured sweater you see at left.  I’ve sewn the shoulders together to get an idea of fit and neck drop appropriateness.  Both are fine.  Why don’t I sew up those sides so I won’t be showing all my lady meat?  Because I sew my sleeves in flat.  Yup, pretty much always.  And not just in knitting, in sewing too.  Just about all the clothes we buy are sewn this way, so it’s good enough for my masterpieces.Blackandwhite

If anyone is wondering why it’s taking me an AGE to knit one sleeve, much less two, it’s because I started yet another sweater at the same time.  I am a trollop.  What am I knitting?  Well it’s the quirkily named item #21 Pull from Phildar Automne 06/07. I wanted to buy the Phildar Partner poly/acrylic yarn called for in this project, but it was a bit pricey with shipping.  I cheaped out and bought actual wool from Elann.  The black and white yarn is Elann Peruvian Highland Chunky and is pretty close to gauge for this sweater.  It’s hard to figure out what gauge is because it’s knit in 1×1 rib and "stretched" to measure for gauge.  WTF?!  I can pull it so it covers half my car, be more specific please.  I’m knitting one size larger than I normally would – just in case.  I’d hate for my sister getting another sweater due to my measuring ineptitude.

6 responses

  1. I sew my sleeves in that way as well. It’s what my mom taught me to do when I learned to sew, so I naturally do the same with my knitting. Didn’t know until later that other people do it differently.

  2. I like that phildar sweater a lot, very funky. They should put gauge in st st even if it’s not actually knitted in stst, that would be much easier!

  3. Oh damn you. I no sooner promise not to look at another sweater until I knit the 4 I have yarn for in the stash, and then you go and post a picture of an adorable one. I’m not sure I’m strong enough to resist the temptation.

Comments are closed.