Sil-o-pologie

Dressv1 Sometime before Christmas – way before Christmas – I got my Anthro catalog and loved a blue cotton dress.  It was adorable and $178.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t begrudge folks making money and running successful businesses.  If I could have bought it, I would have.  M8108_1But, I thought my family and friends would like Christmas presents too, so I decided to make my own version and buy a couple of presents. 

Well, weeks and weeks later I finally finished my dress.  I didn’t have a shirtwaist dress pattern handy, so I started with McCalls 8108 from my pattern stash and changed just about everything about it.  I kept the cap sleeve as is because I hate hate hate drafting sleeve patterns.  Quirky but true.

AnthrodressWhat I changed:  neckline – I opened up the neckline and dropped and rounded the curve like my Anthro dress; zipper – I added a CB seam to put in an invisible zipper; horizontal bodice seam – I added a horizontal bodice seam (back and front) in order to make an elastic casing; I also added fullness to the skirt and bodice so there would be a bit of shirring.  I didn’t want this seam to be at the waist so it’s about 1.5" above the waist.

Basically, the finished pattern tissue looked like a Frankenstein pattern.  Another thing I did was dump the stupid facings they put in all home sewing patterns.  I made my own bias and used that to clean finish the neckline.  Add some belt carriers and a belt and voila!  A bit of the warmer weather, some tights and a sweater and call me done.

17 responses

  1. Really interesting dress to copy–I don’t like the prices, but I have to say Anthro seems to get the details right.
    And I love the way yours came out–super fabric!
    Oh, and Ariann looks great on the sis, too!

Comments are closed.