Zippy time

Collar I’ve finished all the knitting and sewing up on Vex.  I ordered a zipper and until that arrives, Vex will be neatly folded up, waiting patiently.  Me, not so much.

I’d hoped to have a suitable zipper in my stash, but sadly I only had a black one that was the right length.  I surfed over to Zipperstop and ordered two zippers in two different reds just to make sure one would be ok.  They’re so cheap it doesn’t make sense not to buy a backup in case my monitor colors are whacked.

In order to have a snippet of blog fodder, I photographed the little collar I went with, a simple 4×4 rib to match the midriff.  The Vex pattern is made for a pullover with a cowl collar.  Cute, but the Malabrigo in a pullover is a bit warm for my climate.  A cardigan is much more suitable for me.  The neckline was dropped a bit for the cowl neck, and I wanted a crew neck but didn’t alter the neckline decreases to make it higher.  I "fixed" this when knitting the collar by adding some shortrows at the front neck edge to build it up a bit without extending the height of the back collar.  I eyeballed where I wanted the shortrow to begin and end and looked up shortrows in Stanley’s Knitter’s Handbook and just did it.  Two shortrows per side did the trick.

I did notice that the pattern errata now has a crewneck version so shortrowing may not even be necessary if you’re too lazy to figure your own decreases.  Yes, I refer to this lazy girl. Oh well, Montse saved my arse – again.

5 responses

  1. It looks fabulous–I can’t wait to see it all done up!
    And thank you for the zipper info–I am just finishing up knitting the Paton’s Street Smart Cardi and wanted a 2-way separating zipper for it and didn’t know where to find one, and there you go, giving me just what I need!
    Soon I want to make a Rogue (inspired by Claudia) and need one for that too!

  2. I love Zipperstop. I actually broke down on one project and ordered the color card, and then of course haven’t needed a zipper since. Sheesh. The color is a nice modification, and I agree with Claudia – short-rows can’t be lazy. They just can’t.

Comments are closed.