Vexation

VexdoneSince I’m about 99% done with Vex, I thought I’d share!  Granted the picture at left is heavily monkeyed with because 1. I took it late last night after a full day of work, workout and hours of homework, 2. it’s taken in my bathroom with the excellent light and thought I’d save you all from looking at my shower and 3. my purple dotty pajama pants don’t really match.  Hence the monkeying.

I very much like this little sweater.  TummytuckThe yarn is Malabrigo Worsted Variegated in Col China colorway.  I bought six skeins of this yarn at the opening of Nathania and friends’ shop Purlescence way back in October.  (A very superior shop btw).  I really loved the Malabrigo and this colorway screamed at me to buy it – so I did to put it out of its misery.

Malabrigo is super soft and I’m guessing will pill, but really, the softest nicest yarns pill because of their softness.  Tightly spun scratchy yarns don’t but are way too kevlar like for this sensitive missy.  A note about Malabrigo variegated (and all hand dyed yarn), if you’re fanatic about having the skeins all match, don’t use hand dyed yarn. Headlessside If you’re like me and don’t mind the back and front knitting up differently, go for it.  I did alternate skeins in the front to make them less likely to go wonky, but even that doesn’t really work.  They don’t want to be the same and I shouldn’t try to make them dammit.

After buying the yarn I found this Vex pullover pattern.  Just what I was looking for.  I bought six skeins and used about 5 1/2 making the cardigan and bands in size S/M.  The only modification I made was to knit it as a cardigan and make a flat laying crew neck collar.  The zipper came from the very superior Zipperstop purveyor and simply sewed that in with the teeth exposed on the trusty Bernina.

The only finishing bit left on this lovely is knitting up narrow 8 stitch bands to cover the zipper tape so it’s as pretty flopping open as it is all zipped up. Yay!

20 responses

  1. Oh, that is cute as hell — might be just what I need to make out of Peace Fleece. I am so cold in my new job that I need a new Peace Fleece sweater. I love what you did with it — cardiganizing it and changing the collar like that. Cool beans!

  2. Ohh, it looks so pretty. I love Malabrigo and do really like that colorway too. I liked Vex too, but wasn’t keen on the t-neck b/c I hate stuff up close to my neck. It really looks great and I love it on you.

  3. Well, good news and bad news. The good news, is that it looks really good on you. The bad news is that you didn’t make it too small and thus have to give it to me.

  4. I definitely like your version better – it looks FABulous on you! I’ve been eyeing the Malabrigo Col China too – though I ended up buying Stonechat & Olive for now instead. I’ll have to knit them up fast so I can justify a Col China purchase! It is gorgeous.

Comments are closed.