Sew buttons on your underwear

Bluebuttons_3I’ve been kinda dumb lately.  I attribute that to having to get up at 5 a.m. for work for the past few days.  I’m NOT a morning person, so this is hugely ugly.  Two more days of this nonsense and it’s back to 7:30 mornings.  I’m still a morning beyatch, but a nicer one.  Maybe.

The dumb has translated into the knitting up of multiple front button bands.  You’d think cardigan = 2 button bands.  Nope.  You’re talking to a girl who bought 5 tires for her car…let’s just say I tried to get a little too close to the curb when parallel parking with those bad new tires.  FYI, that new tire "warranty" doesn’t cover the stupid.  Right, it’s about 4 button bands later and I’ve got two I’m keeping.  I’ve had problems placing the buttonholes symmetrically.  Cracked that and I made 8 buttonholes and then could only find SIX buttons that I liked.  Rip it again Kermie.  Okay, a few types of buttonholes later, I’ve got it.  I ended up using the "One Row Buttonhole" from Montse Stanley’s Knitter’s Handbook (pp. 197-199).  That’s a good one…

Okay, onto the trauma of sleeves.  I’m thinking I shoulda made something like Bonne Marie’s newest pattern "Nicole"- no sleeves…

10 responses

  1. I love the colour and the fit of the sweater so far. I have to diagree with the “no sleeves”. You might put in some “T-shirt” sleeves or 3/4 length sleeves. I just don’t like the “no-sleeve” look.
    Good luck! Whatever you decide to do, I am sure that it will be great.

  2. Nice buttons, lovely color and a good match with the sweater. But don’t you think you should knit sleeves using that French knitting pattern chart? (ducks and runs)

  3. Your sweater is going to be perfect when you get done. Should we get a pool going on how many times you will make the sleeves? Hopefully, you’ll get ’em on the first or second try. (I hope I’m not jinxing the sleeves…)

  4. Just because I made a funny comment about what was going to go wrong with your button bands didn’t mean you had to be all polite-like and comply!

Comments are closed.