Sleeve muffins

Sleeve_2 Marching ever closer to finishing the Devilish Blue Angora sweater, I’ve finished the first sleeve.  AND the second has been started.  My loose talk of having this finished in time for Maryland may just come true.

The sleeves have gone well after the initial rippage.  MuffincompNot very interesting knitting, but necessary.  Because the picture of a sleeve is too dull for words, I’ve got muffins to perk y’all up a bit.

I found a great recipe to use up some buttermilk from a previous baking endeavor. Why do they sell buttermilk in such ginormous containers?  I used this recipe for Buttermilk Bran Muffins and they’re yummy.  They’re not dense gut-sitting monsters, but rather light and fluffy delicious bits.  I made a couple of additions to the recipe.  I used more applesauce since I had to cook some up (who keeps applesauce sitting around the house?) and used all 1/2 cup that my apple produced.  I also added a dollop of honey that some of the comments suggested.  I like the sweets, what can I say.

9 responses

  1. In Ontario you used to be able to get a 500ml container of buttermilk from any one of a number of local dairies, which was the perfect amount for a batch of biscuits. Some time in the mid-to-late 90s those disappeared, and I kvetched and moaned about the smallest container being the one litre, and pretty much stopped making biscuits altogether (living alone, I just couldn’t eat that many before they all got hard).
    Now that I’m in the South, I’d gladly buy buttermilk by the litre, as it seems that here you can only get it in gallons. Ack!

  2. A quart-size container of buttermilk isn’t ginormous to a person who’s a fan of drinking it! For me, that’s only about two servings, LOL. It’s one of many food likes that I inherited from my father.
    Those muffins sound yummy – I’d have to buy an extra quart so I could have my muffins, and drink my buttermilk, too. 😉

  3. You can buy dry buttermilk powder in the baking aisle. You add the powder with your dry ingredients and the water you need when you would normally add the regular buttermilk. Honestly, I can’t tell the difference between the results using dry vs. regular. The bonus is that you can keep the dry version in your fridge practically indefinitely!

  4. I saw your Flair picture on knitandtonic, and it is GREAT! I’m making one, too, but very slowly…
    Checked your gallery, too. Very nice choices of patterns for the tops, etc. Nice work. 🙂
    -steph

  5. Hey Miss Sil! I haven’t been able to make any blog rounds for a while and today’s the day I finally get to binge on my favorites 🙂
    Everything you’re working on is looking really good! I wish I had been around to help with that chart pattern you were trying to figure out. It looks like you’ve got it under control and I look forward to seeing that top finished!

Comments are closed.