Cute Pattern Alert

Ng1_anais_lg While I furiously knit a few more inches on Mystery Stole #3, I shall momentarily distract you by alerting you to a cute pattern I came across.

Apparently Norah Gaughan is designing for Berrocco and has come out with the fascinatingly named Vol. 1Ng1_anais_d_lg_2 The creative team must have been spent after coming up with that title.

Despite the non-name, Vol. 1 is quite interesting.  It’s definitely taste specific, and if you like simple, spare and modern like me, you’ll appreciate the style direction here.  I fell in love with #4 Anais.  It’s a cute little top and I’ve got some Elann.com cotton/linen Camila in the same gauge.  That may work here.  Plus a cap sleeve top makes more sense to me in cotton blend than in alpaca.

I’ll file this project under "sometime soon"…

13 responses

  1. Norah’s been on board at Berrocco for a while now (at least a year) as Margery’s second in command. Maybe she got her hands on some incriminating photos and that’s how she’s finally getting some credit.
    Oh wait, did *I* say that?

  2. I spied that one when the preview came out. Now, can I justify the massive expense of ordering the book from the States for that one pattern?

  3. Yes and no. I’d modify the plain neck edge — the transition looks a bit funky, too. And the sleeves just don’t work — it’s the narrowing of the stockinette about, oh, four inches below the shoulder? And, again, the naked edge of the lower part of the armscye. And what’s with the welt ribbing? I dunno, Sil, I really like the fill in the scoop of the bodice and the overall sweater concept, but why not have a plain welt with a little matching scallop edge and perhaps something similar for a cap sleeve?

  4. I have a love/irritate relationship with Norah. I love the interesting details of her work, but I rarely like the way they fit and spend a lot of time modifying. So I often sound just like Sylvia above.
    That being said, I am making her Ogee Tunic right now with no mods!

  5. Thanks for the heads up. Now if only I were really clever on Ravelery, I would upload this into my projects queue (rather than just working on my Friends list).

Comments are closed.