State of the stash

Stash There’s a backstory to this photo.  I’ll nutshell it for you.

I quit my job a month ago and my last day at work was a couple of days ago.  I’d planned a leisurely few months of job hunting and lolly-gagging about.

Who can see what’s coming…anyone?

Yup, I got a new job a week and a half ago and I start on Monday.  Next Monday.  Like the 6th!

While I’m grateful to have found a good job so quickly, I’m mourning for my lost sloth.  The other part of the story is the new job is 500 miles to the south.  Yup, I’ve got to scrape the Nor Cal stickers off the car and paste on the So Cal variety.

While a full and complete move is a few months out yet, I still have to prepare by streamlining the stash.  I’m down to one tote each of sewing patterns, fabric and yarn.  Not bad.  This does not of course include any books or magazines corresponding to said hobbies.  I’m proud of getting it down to this lot.  AND it only took two carloads of stuff to Goodwill to get there.

If you see me heading toward Elann, kick me.

27 responses

  1. Wow — congratulations! It feels so good to pare out the stash, doesn’t it? I’m not quite *that* pared down, but I’ve gotten rid of a lot over the last year or so and don’t miss any of it.
    I can’t wait to hear what the new plan is.

  2. Congrats on the new job and good luck with the move and the stash management. Even with the need to de-stash to clean out the closet for the baby I still have way more stuff than I should.

  3. Congrats on the new job! Awesome. You’ve really pared down the stash to one small bin. Good luck with the move to So Cal. No Elann for you! (or at least not until you move . . .?)

  4. Congratulations for the new job!I hope you’ll enjoy it: no vacations, ARGH!
    I’ve been mooving several times …..with all my stash….and the men who were loading the truck were really laughing : plenty of very huge bags, light weighted!

  5. Congrats on the new job, good luck with the move. BTDT very recently, and I’m going to doing it AGAIN very soon (but this time with movers. DIY moving twice in one year? Not on your life.

  6. Oh, man! I’m going to miss having you in the area. I know that must sound very weird, since we never yet met, but still.
    Anyway, good luck with the move and new job and all! I purged a bunch of yarn just recently when the Audubon day camp put out a call for yarn on freecycle.org, and that felt really good.

  7. DH actually complained during one move that I didn’t have enough stash to pack his glassware correctly, that I needed more sock yarn… Silly man didn’t know about the bins I’d already packed!
    Can’t wait to see the warm weather SoCal style clothes you make next. Have fun in the new digs!

  8. I agree with AuntieAnn. It’s going to pretend to stalk you now.
    Congrats on the new job and good luck with the move! You’ll be closer to your fake niece, yes?

  9. YAY! Good luck with your new job! I hope that your new day went well. Congrats on streamlining your stash; I’m constantly doing that. Never know when a move is going to come (and living in an apartment calls for streamlining)!

Comments are closed.