Tilting or crazy?

Tilted1 Now that Tangled Yoke is out of the way, it’s time to audition new projects.

I’ve actually started Tilted Duster from the same issue of Interweave Knits as the Tangled Yoke.  I’m using some Brown Sheep worsted in colorway Prairie Fire.  It’s a really pretty deep red and this yarn is a rather good value.

Compared to Tangled, this project almost flies off the freaking needles!  I am torn by this design though.  The stockinette of the skirt curls something fierce.  I’ve perused Ravelry to glean some knowledge from folks who are ahead of me on this one.  I’ve found that many find the sleeves to be tight and the stockinette skirt of the sweater needs to be blocked like heck and darnation.  Some are also finding the collar fussy and I’ve seen some modified to be open like a lapel type collar.  Cute variation.

One knitter made a hem to combat the hated curl of stockinette and I’m drawn to this idea.  I may hem or knit 4 or so rows of 2×2 rib at the end (you knit the skirt top down).  I’m fully prepared to rip the whole shebang out in the end though.  If it’s going to be a pain, it’s going down buddy.  Tough love.

9 responses

  1. There’s something about this design that strikes me as more interesting than wearable. But then again, Parikha’s version (at the brown sheep, if you don’t read her) is pretty stunning.
    We’ll enjoy seeing it, whatever you decide!

  2. You might be crazy, but it doesn’t mean you can’t tilt. I know others have had problems with the crazy collar. I think Brown Sheep is a good sub, for the crazy cold winter in LA, right? 😉

  3. Parikha does have a nice one up on Flikr. Your arms should be fine in the sleeves — for DD I’d have to add inches to the width.
    The weight of the BS yarn should help counter the stockinette curl with drape. Fingers crossed.

  4. Hey, what’s wrong with curling? I like the relaxed attitude of it. But, of course, by all means, if you don’t like it you can conquer with a hem or ribbing …

Comments are closed.