Lil blue sock

Bluesockcollage I’ve totally lost interest in working on Tilted Duster.  It’s still sitting in it’s banish bag and I just don’t want to pick it up right now.  I don’t have to, so I won’t.  Plus I’m a bit sick and the thought of concentrating on Tilted Duster (or anything really) just won’t happen until this head/sinus pain is gone.  Instead I’ve finished my first Monkey sock from the bamboo/wool I got at Rhinebeck.

For those interested in these bamboo/wool/nylon blends that seem to be cropping up everywhere these days, my vote is an enthusiastic thumbs up.  The yarn is smooth and soft and the patterns show up pleasingly well.  The elasticity of bamboo/wool is certainly less than all wool, but that can be compensated for with a ribbed type pattern.  Monkeys were a fortuitious choice on my part.  I hope they wear well since they’re rather cute.

Purplespirit One down, one to go.  My next sock endeavor will be this purple Spirit Trail Fiberworks hank that will be a gift for a friend.  My friend admired my Monkeys, but I don’t really want to make another pair right away.  That’s not me.  I’m leaning toward Jane’s Hedgerow Socks, a nice textured leg pattern to highlight the pretty subtle color changes of this yarn.  Any other ideas?

10 responses

  1. Thanks for the wool/bamboo review. It’s been on my list of sock yarns to try and I just haven’t yet for whatever reason. I have Hedgerow going now on the needles (not really actively) for my daughter and I am (well was) really liking it 🙂
    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. That picture of Spirit Trail sock yarn leaves me weak in the knees. Another pattern that I thought would be pretty is 9 to 5 socks. Also, I think the waving lace sock, the merino lace sock pattern and retro rib sock pattern are great. Also, one of my favorites is Thuja from Knitty. Easily adaptable to any sock weight in increments of 4 sts. I’ve made two pair and loved them.

  3. We were blaming the sinus thing on the second-hand smoke from down South, then on the leaf molds — is it illness instead of allergies? We’re all sniffly and sneezing.
    Hope you feel better already. (And hope the job thing is resolving itself.)
    When in doubt, I usually just do a BW baby cable ribbing, but offsetting the crosses every other rib. Pretty monkey, especially with the picot top.

Comments are closed.