When life hands you apples…

Applesauce In lieu of actual knitting content I’m posting about food.  Fear not, I’m not turning into Miss Martha Stewart, but I do like a nice baked good.

I came across this yummy sounding recipe over at Bake and Shake for Braeburn Apple Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.  Oh heaven!  I had a bunch of apples that needed using and thought I could turn the yummy cupcakes into a lower fat version in a loaf pan.  I do still want to make the original version because cream cheese frosting is nectar of the gods to me.  Here’s the doubled and slightly fiddled ingredient list of the version I baked and loved:

Applesauce Loaf Cake

  • 3/4 c packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 c homemade chunky applesauce, unsweetened
  • 3 c all purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 t ground cinnamon
  • 1 t ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 t ground cloves
  • 1 t ground allspice
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt

I followed the mixing instructions in the original recipe and baked it in a buttered and floured 5" x 9" loaf pan for 55 minutes at 350 degrees.  It’s super yummy.  It’d be even better with frosting…

4 responses

Comments are closed.