Eating room

Bluedress In anticipation of Thanksgiving I decided I needed a new eating dress.  You know, stretchy, comfy and plenty of room.

Enter Simplicity 3678 and some cotton/lycra in a peacocky blue.  This dress was super easy, it took about an afternoon to stitch up.  The only mods I made to the pattern were to make the sleeves 3/4 length (to keep them out of the gravy) and shortened it a smidge to knee grazing length.  Oh yeah, then I sewed in my label.

Specs:  Simplicity 3678, about 2 yards of cotton/lycra 60" wide fabric from Stone Mountain and Daughter, pattern rated easy on my personal hardness scale.

I’m thinking of pie already.  Yeah for stretch!

21 responses

  1. Okay, the minute I saw the title of your post and the dress I started laughing. What a great idea. And this is the cutest “eating room” outfit I have seen yet. I just might have to whip up one as a top for the very same reason. Happy eating!

  2. It’s gorgeous! I’m impressed that you actually dress up for Thanksgiving. It’s roomy jeans and long-sleeve tees all the way, over here.

  3. I too laughed – but in all seriousness, I think it’s a good idea! I mean, you can’t offend anyone and not taste a bit of everything. And one must be comfortable at the table…That is a great dress, pretty cool it sew up so easily and quickly.

Comments are closed.