Sleeves and snow

Snowww I’m in Salt Lake for another week.  My training is about to become a bit more stressful for this last week.  Luckily my classmates and I found the state liquor store and red wine cures several ills.  I’ve got to get re-certified on every type of aircraft the airline I work for flies. (I’ve been on leave from my job for a few years and the last time I had to know all this info at once was 9 years ago when I started…)  Anywho, there is a bunch of memorization and the old brain needs some short term memory jumpstarting.  If anyone has hints, feel free to let me know.

I’ve been knitting a bit when there’s been time.  I’m working away on Ariann and she seems to be the right size.  Seems is the key word here.  I started the first sleeve and it’s a great Ariannsleeve relaxer after a stressful day.

I also met some local SLC knitters at their weekly gathering courtesy of Miss Margene. (Thanks Margene!)  These knitters are amazingly talented and so incredibly funny!  They may be insane, but I’m not qualified to judge.  Two of the knitters were knitting with Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool and that stuff is super luscious.  Why haven’t I known about this yarn before?  I saw a great many beautiful projects and finally figured out that they are motivated to knit because it snows here!  Yup, it snowed here one day and honestly it’s been a while since I’ve been in a snowstorm – is that even the right term?

Ok, back to studying!  Wish me luck.

14 responses

  1. Repeat the facts you need to know while repeating knitting patterns then you can wear (or carry) the knitted garment when you get tested then all the answers will be in your knitting.

  2. Hi! I’m back to knitting and blogs world! You said snow! brrr! Here, it’s cold, but a few trees are blooming! It’s a bit early, I hope it won’t freeze any more!

  3. Oh yes…must have warm sweaters. Looks like you escape our fair city just as the snow moves back in. It’s been great to have you around! We believe we are all crazy, too so it’s an acceptable moniker. 😉

  4. Good luck with the tests. Cram, cram, cram until you think you’ve forgotten everything you ever knew about doors. At that moment, you are cooked and may put your book down.

  5. You can do it! The only tip I have? When memorizing, study from back-to-front, so that the more-familiar stuff gets covered at the end, and you move into more familiar territory as you go…. Or, something like that. It works for memorizing things like speeches, or songs, anyway! Instead of always starting at the beginning so that you know that cold but get more uncertain as you progress, you start with final paragraphs and work to the front . . . that makes the beginning a little shakier, but you gain confidence as you get closer to the end, the familiar territory.
    Of course, whether this works with airplane specifications, I’m really not equipped to say.
    And, how funny, I just started the IK “Flutter-Sleeve Cardigan” in Silky Wool….

  6. Good luck !
    You’ll be fine. I have complete faith in you and your abilities, being a smart and intelligent [ not always the same thing ! ] woman.
    All the best. xxx

  7. Glad you found the liquor store! I drove by your hotel this weekend and waved. 🙂
    Good luck with the rest of your training. I hope you can make it to SnB tomorrow as well.

Comments are closed.