Photo series and obsessions

Slcmar

Salt Lake City, taken downtown early afternoon. Partly cloudy, totally spectacular.

I’ve become obsessed with buying a tiny travel laptop.  I’ve read reviews and relentlessly questioned my passengers who’re using models in which I’m interested.  I found a really well priced refurbished Thinkpad on Overstock.  I’ve never bought a refurbished computer and need some input.  Afterall, one can return it if unsatisfied, but I don’t really want to lose the 30% restocking fee.  Anyone?

My second obsession is with the Striped scarf that I’ve seen variations of all over the blogiverse.  Look at Norma’s fabulous version.  See why I’m obsessed.  I shall have to peruse several skeins in person to gauge some successful combinations.  Someday.  Soon.

14 responses

  1. Husband is wondering about travel laptops (railroad guy that he is) He’s not supposed to have them at work and wants a smaller version. I’ll be interested in hearing what you discover.

  2. My guy was pricing out the really small, light ones a few months ago. I think he really like the antec ? I’ll ask him tonight and let you know ($500 range too much?)

  3. Good thing I haven’t gotten the Dell giftcard yet…. I bought a reburbished iRiver from overstock and was very happy with it. If you buy a warranty with it that might be good.
    I LOVE my Thinkpad.

  4. I have the tiny sony vaio (total weight 2.3lbs) and I love it. I’ve had it for a few years now and it’s perfect to read email and blogs. And carry around.

  5. whee a tour around the photos πŸ™‚
    if it has a full warranty as refurbished you could consider it otherwise no way jose! (I love my tiny mac now- bit spendy, but after I got it I think it is worth every penny!)
    and yes we all love the genius of brooklyntweed to bring that scarf to our attention πŸ™‚

  6. I bought a refurbished Ipod (60G Video) and I’ve had it 2.5 years now. I bought the extended warranty and I’ve been very happy with mine. Love, love, love it and knock on wood, I’ve not had any problems with mine. So hopefully you wouldn’t have any problems with something purchased on Overstock.com. Their customer service people are super friendly and I love to use their chat feature for customer service. I think a warranty would be required if purchasing a refurbished computer, imnsho. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m on my second refurbished ThinkPad (3 years later I wanted to upgrade to XP from Win2000; also I’d filled it–oops). I buy them at J&R in New York City for $700-$800 by the time you add more RAM and the extended warranty; check their website. Pros: the BEST keyboard (size and touch); durable; cheap. Cons: weighs a ton, IBM preloaded software isn’t the best (IBM RecordNow doesn’t support Ogg Vorbis when the identical program from Roxio would). What I want is one of the new light/thin ones which will likely have come down in price by the time this one has obsolesced. I also have a Mac powerbook but some programs aren’t made for the Mac (like my Wills program–the company just said no, and said, ‘get a refurb laptop;’ they were right!). Again, I’ve had no problem sith refurbs; if you’re worried you can get a small flash drive to back up your stuff in case it does blow up…portable peace of mind. Hope this helps.

  8. I can’t add anything on the laptops, but I sure wish I had a new one! That scarf is so cool looking. Now I want to make one, too. See what you’ve done…

  9. I can’t add anything on the laptops, but I sure wish I had a new one! That scarf is so cool looking. Now I want to make one, too. See what you’ve done…

Comments are closed.