Crazy 8 Scarf Done

 Newest-scarf-2  

I began making this scarf in FEBRUARY for a friend's birthday in JUNE.  Yup, just made it.

No, this wasn't a hard thing to knit, I just didn't knit on it too steadily.  I decided to make the scarf reversible by using reversible cables.  Basically, a reversible cable is created by knitting them in 1×1 rib.  I used multiples of 8 stitches to make 4 over 4 cables.  I decided to mirror the cables and cross them every 8 rows.  See not hard at all.

So the "pattern" is cast on 56 stitches with size 6 needles.  Knit two rows of 1×1 rib.  Change to size 8 needles and knit on in 1×1 for another six rows then make your cables.  I decided to slip the first stitch of each row to make a cleanish edge.  I knit on until I was about to run out of yarn and then switched backed to size 6 needles for two rows and cast off.  Block and gift.

5 responses

Comments are closed.