Roadie dress

Firstly, sad news from Rachael.  Her lovely momma passed away yesterday after an illness.  Many condolences to Rachael and her family.


Dress-done


Yesterday was a dear friend’s birthday and before heading out to a really great dinner at Maritime East, I pretty much finished my newest travel dress.  Today I sewed the hem and then tried to find a shady spot to take a decent enough photo of the darn dress to post.  We’re having a heatwave and there is sun everywhere.  Luckily the shady side of the house has a ledge upon which to prop the camera and a photoshoot commenced.


To recap, I began with New Look #6803 and added an elastic waist and more fullness through the body.  Think of it as an A-line tank with an elastic waist.  I made a few fit adjustments like taking out a bunch of ease at the sides under the arms.  I don’t want free boobie peep shows getting me in trouble in some foreign spot.  I changed the dumb neck facings to bias bands to clean finish and sewed them down with a twin needle to make a stretchy seam.  For the hem I chose to use the rolled hem function of the overlock machine with wooly nylon in the upper looper.  That creates a lettuce edged hem and makes it a bit more fun.  There are also side seam pockets to hold room keys and trinkets.


I think it makes a decent swim coverup and with a belt, it works well enough to run around town in.  Leggings and a little cardie will make this a good airplane commute outfit too. (Yes, I fly to work – always have.)  After my trip this weekend, I hope to make a summery blouse, or skirt.  No ideas yet, just some material wanting to be used.

14 responses

  1. Excellent mods, especially the way you handled the hem and flare.
    Thanks for the heads up about Rachael et al. I’ll see if I can cross paths with her this month. Sad — that’s such a great family.

  2. So elegant. And it will be yours alone, as all the best hand made and custom designed garments are. And boy, do I wish I had your elegant posture and sweet figure.

  3. Elegant. How much fun it will be to wear a one of a kind garment custom designed and executed by you. And how I wish I had your elegant posture and lovely figure.

  4. So elegant. And it will be yours alone, as all the best hand made and custom designed garments are. And boy, do I wish I had your elegant posture and sweet figure.

Comments are closed.